Sunday, November 16, 2014

VCR: INEC grants two-day extension for Lagos, Edo, four others

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the extension of the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) by two days in the states under the third phase.

The extension according to the Chief Press Secretary to the Chairman of the Commission, Mr. Kayode Idowu would however not include Adamawa state.

Though the commission did not give any reason for the exclusion of Adamawa, but it may not be unconnected with the security situation in the state.

The statement reads: “In effect, the CVR that commenced on Wednesday, November 12th and was scheduled to end on Monday, November 17th, 2014, will now last until Wednesday, November 19th, 2014. The states affected are Kano, Edo, Plateau, Ogun, Imo and Lagos.

“The Chairman of INEC, Professor Attahiru Jega, approved the extension to make up for initial challenges in the exercise and to enable as many eligible persons as possible to get registered.

“The Commission strongly admonishes against persons using the CVR to engage in multiple registration, which is a criminal offence and culprits liable to prosecution.”

No comments:

Post a Comment